I’m now genuinely confused about this. Opening frame of O’Sullivan vs Williams, 2 snookers required. Gets one, a beauty, Williams misses the blue from the snooker. Instead of having the cue ball replaced, O’Sullivan plays from where it was left, very difficult position to lay another snooker from, fails to do so and leaves a straightforward blue for Williams to clinch the frame.
Have the rules changed recently? Replacing the white and making Williams replay the shot would very likely have won O’Sullivan the frame. It’s commonly done, I don’t get why in two games running two pro players have declined to do it and lost out as a result.