Religion

Religion.

It’s a big topic, especially in this perceptively smaller and connected world. It has driven much of the conflict in the world, past and present. At the same time, it has also been a vehicle for emancipation and free speech. The dialogue we all enjoy now is, in part at least, derived from earlier efforts of religious people to worship in their own way,

It’s place in history briefly alluded to, what place does religion hold in our society today? What’s your position on it?

A sort of non-secular religious poll is up there. I’m not an expert, so let me know if we need more options.

1. Pantheist. Everything is God, and god is everything. The mother nature option. Sort of.
    1. Atheist. I believe there is no god.
    1. I self-identify with a religion, but don’t really practice
    1. Theist. I actively believe in and practice a religion.
    1. Agnostic. Not seen a God myself, but who am I to tell you any different?
    1. None of the above.

0 voters

I’m a firm believer that we’re not the highest life form, but dislike like the term “God” and the practice of worship. No problems with being grateful or thankful of what we have, but if there truly was a God I’m damn sure they wouldn’t want or expect lavish places of worship. Not sure that those thoughts fit into any of the original options?

I’ve got a weird relationship with religion meself, Smiler. Grew up around Muslims, so a lot of them would tell you that it wasn’t okay to eat pork (most of my family still don’t), also had Christian education in school, including stories, etc. I’d read most of the bible stories, worked for a company where 1/3 of the staff were from some weird charismatic cult (which finally put me, and many others who worked there, off Christianity for good - they tried recruiting quite forcefully). Went through a stage of being an atheist, and am currently spending a decent portion of matchdays with Hindu friends.